logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline James  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 17, 2014 7:57:31 AM(UTC)
James
Man

Was thanked: 216 time(s) in 149 post(s)
R wrote:
Hi Yada,

Happy Shabbat.

When I was a practicing as a medical professional I worked on this day until a few years ago. Even though I was in what was deemed a healing profession much of my ‘work’ was anything but healing. I was paid for what I did. I had access to many people and, of course, where appropriate I would discuss Yah’s message. Usually without result. It was precisely because I was doing paid healing on the Shabbat that was I was troubled and subsequently stopped doing so. (To heal without payment would have meant my being sacked).

Now, as a retiree I have little opportunity to proclaim Yah’s word to those who would listen and I am not comfortable walking around like a JW or one of those people in a sandwich board on which is written ‘the end of the world is nigh’ - or words to that effect. Either way is sure to have any meaningful discussion rejected. I have had occasion to pull up a few JWs but with them you might as well speak to a brick wall.

In Shemowth 20:8-11 is a phrase that has always troubled me: “…you should never actually engage in (lo’ ‘asah – you should not habitually do, consistently prepare or produce, and you should not consistently fashion or finish, advance or assign, accomplish or act upon (qal stem imperfect conjugation)) any part of (kol) the work of God’s Representative and Messenger…” in relation to the Shabbat.

I note you have said that as Yahowsha worked to heal on the Shabbat and proclaimed Yah’s message (really his own as he is a diminished manifestation of Yah) then we can and should do the same. Yet, isn’t Yahowsha a heavenly messenger or God’s representative? Apart from the Set-Apart Spirit I can think of none better.