logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline danshelper  
#1 Posted : Monday, July 19, 2010 9:37:41 AM(UTC)
danshelper

Is the "new moon" a consequence of being given over to worship the host of heaven?
(I'm studying chodesh and would appreciate your Spirit given insight.)

Why does YHWH never use or authorize the use of chodesh as “new moon” in the first 5 books?
Why is “chodesh” always translated as “month” in the first 5 books?
Why does YHWH use chodesh as “new moon” to condemn all present (at the time written) “new moon” celebrations and why does He only use chodesh/new moon in an approving way when referring to future temple/kingdom worship?

Why is the term “first” or “beginnings” used exclusively in the first 5 books to designate the first day of the month? Why did this change to “new moon”?

first 259; echad – one
first 7223; rishon – from rosh; former, first, chief
beginnings 7218; rosh – head; From an unused root apparently meaning to shake; the head (as most easily shaken); first, top, beginning, chief
(What phase of the moon most resembles a head?)

In the first 5 books, was YHWH purposefully identifying the true head of the month in order to negate the idolatrous teachings from which Israel had been delivered?

Quote:
God’s creation of light on day one before the creation of the luminaries on day four forms a polemic against Atum-Re, the sun god. This shows that the source of light does not originate with the sun or the moon (i.e. Re, the sun-god or Thoth, the moon-god), but with the Hebrew God who is distinct from the light and the creation.