logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Glitch  
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 29, 2013 3:34:41 PM(UTC)
Glitch

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 5 post(s)
I thought I would share my early exposure to the Torah with respect to the Shabbat. In prior years I studied Herbert W. Armstrong and the Church of God doctrines. This is where I became convinced that God clearly set apart the seventh day in his testimony, as Friday sundown to Saturday sundown, for all time. The Church of a God was instructive though not real to me in the sense of truth. Then I encountered introtogod.org and realized that God has a true message for those who are seeking to know what He has to say in his own testimony.

So I set out to honor the seventh day. This was an inconvenient practice. I had a lot of things I needed to accomplish on weekends. I had to think about rearranging my schedule. Of course there were things which intruded on this "practice" so I started developing excuses to deal with the guilt from not adhering to the requirement of honoring the Shabbat. Out of town friends showed up, there was the shopping trip, I needed to work out or take a fitness walk, or go out for dinner.

Nevertheless, I did spend time reading the Torah. I replayed the previous weeks worth of second hour broadcasts from yada Yah. Then something began to change. Insights from reading the Torah began flooding into my consciousness. I obtained Interlinears and lexicons and started to cross reference terms that weren't accurately translated in our commonly available religious renderings. I had to verify what Yada was relating in his writings and broadcasts. Great stuff!